Honour Roll

Throughout the year the club awards other special awards including

Life Members

1992    Alf Caldwell
1993    Robyn Koellner
1994    Rhonda van Bracht
1995    Peter Eaton
2001    Hans Cremerius
2002    Dennis Curtis
2003    Geoff Lucas
2007    Frank Scott
2009    Dick Ruse
2012    Janelle Curtis
2012    Robert Blacker
2012    Tony Hanscombe

Peter Eaton Memorial Consistency Award

Peter Eaton Award Criteria

Peter moved to Bega in 1976 with wife Val & daughters Tess & Katrina to run the store at north Bega. He was quick to recognise that there was a niche for squash courts in the town so he had them built.  At the age of 36 Peter took up squash seriously and quickly became the best in the district. He went on to win our club championship 9 times, coached numerous juniors including his own daughters who both won our ladies championship.

The “Peter Eaton award” however recognises more the highly competitive attitude he bought to the game. None can recall him ever missing a match- for any reason. Once you were selected to his team a bond was formed and you were a team. Team practice was mandatory, not whether but how often. All were on hand at 7pm to watch your 3 team- mates play, everyone scored or refereed, and all commiserated or celebrated the teams result. Peter would do what ever it took, within the rules (& sometimes only just) to win. Losing was not an option.
Standards set by Peter in the formative days of our club ensured a keen interest and smooth running with a good supply of well-tutored juniors.

The person who receives this coveted award each year is the person recognised by the committee as best upholding his spirit in the following:

  • Dedication to his sport & his team, Peter was a champion but his win meant nothing if the team didn’t win- it’s a team sport.
  • Placing a high priority on being available for each match.
  • Once on the court winning is everything & you must give your all while still showing good sportsmanship.
  • Off the court it is your duty to fully support your team- mates with advice or verbal encouragement.

Peter Eaton Awardees

2001    Robert Blacker
2002    Kelly Parbery
2003    Frank Scott
2004    Peter Bolst
2005    Peter O'Brien
2006    Nicholle Eadie
2007    Leanne Heyhorn
2008    Shawn Kennedy
2009    Mark Canavan
2010    Craig Bassett
2011    Michael Haigh

2012    Dennis Curtis

2013    Gerry Tarlinton

2014    Jeff Row

2015    Joel Tamatea

2016    Jason Darcy

2017    Chris Bartlett

Club Person of the Year

This award is chosen by votes collected from all members

1995 Robyn Koellner
1996 Dennis Curtis
1997 Dick Ruse
1998 Lorraine Ruse
1999 Dick Ruse
2000 Lorraine Ruse
2001 Robyn Koellner
2002 Zip Summerell
2003 Frank Scott
2004 Janelle Sturt
2005 Frank Scott
2006 Frank Scott
2007 Zip Summerell and Leanne Heyhorn
2008 Frank Scott
2009 Troy Northey
2010 Rhonda Lane and Janelle Curtis
2011 Dennis Curtis

2012 Dennis Curtis and Janelle Curtis

2013 Cliff Pistorius

2014 Janelle Curtis

2015 Peter Bolst

2016 Peter Bolst

2017 Peter Bolst


Other Special Awards


Most Improved Player

Presented at the end of each year

Galeano Encouragement Award

Presented at the end of each competition

Karen Jamieson Memorial Award

Most valuable masters & other tournament player for the year

Player Appreciation Certificates

For long standing service to the club - presented once each year

Undefeated Trophies

Each comp awards are given to players who have not lost a match.  Players must have played and won their own game each week for 10 weeks.  You are not eligible for an If you have not played each of your 10 matches